F. Arthur Uebel logo

The workshop of F. Arthur Uebel

An important chapter in German clarinet making

Ansetzerei der Firma F. Arthur Uebel, Markneukirchen, undatiert.

The woodwind instrument maker Friedrich Gustav Uebel (1855-1915) learned his trade in Erlbach, as well as with the renowned clarinet maker Kruspe in Erfurt. In 1878 he founded his own company, which was based in Wohlhausen near Markneukirchen from 1880 onwards, and which gained national importance, especially through its many years of intensive collaboration with the Berlin "old master" Oskar Oehler. As early as 1888, there was a lively exchange and cooperation between Uebel and Oehler, for whose workshop Friedrich Gustav undertook, among other things, key fitting work and the production of half-finished clarinets. In addition, Friedrich Gustav Uebel was involved in the invention of Oehler's prominent fork-f2 mechanism and other instrument-specific improvements around 1900.

Friedrich Arthur Uebel (1888-1963) was the second son of Friedrich Gustav and founded his own workshop in Markneukirchen on 2 September 1936, after having worked directly with Oskar Oehler in Berlin as a trainee in 1911. The master student of Oehler, who died in 1936, took over Oehler's customer base in the same year in order to ensure the continuation of the first-class production of clarinets in the Oehler system and to implement numerous improvements with regard to the key system. Uebel himself noted in his 1936 catalogue:

“For more than 30 years I have given my special attention to the construction of Oehler clarinets. Before the war I myself was a student of the late old master Oehler and in the long years of my professional practice I have been able to put my acquired knowledge to the best practical use. Oehler clarinets are made in my workshops with love and care under my personal direction and are thoroughly tested before shipment. It goes without saying that the utmost importance is attached to pure tuning, easy response and impeccable operation of the mechanism.”
Diplome_d'Honneur_edited.jpg
First-class clarinets from Markneukirchen
F. Arthur Uebel clarinet maker

An event of special motivating importance for the early years of the company was the participation in the international world exhibition in Paris in 1937, where Uebel's clarinets and bass clarinets were awarded the "diplôme d'honneur". In Markneukirchen, the company continued to produce first-class clarinets under the sign F.A.U. and - despite the politically critical circumstances of the Third Reich, the Second World War and socialism - was considered the most important German clarinet-making workshop in the second third of the 20th century, with a first-class workforce of skilled workers and specialists. Clarinetists and university teachers such as Karl Schütte, Willy Schreinicke, Ewald Koch and Oskar Michallik were among the more famous F. Arthur Uebel artists of the time.

The portrait above shows Friedrich Arthur Uebel. (Source: Betriebsführer aus der Musikinstrumentenindustrie, in: Die Unterhaltungsmusik No. 2658 of 26. 11. 1936, p. 1519)

Bild Uebel alt.jpg
Artisan perfection
F. Arthur Uebel clarinet makers

One of the members of the company's staff deserves special mention: Max Schnabel (1893-1979), from Wohlhausen deserves a special mention, as he was ultimately responsible for the artistic perfection of the instruments as a tuner, which made him the contact person for individual cooperation with artists and thus the primary guarantor of quality at the Uebel company. The clarinets created in the Vogtland region have set international standards and inspiration, so that the company F. Arthur Uebel, together with the achievements of Oskar Oehler, can rightly be regarded as the foundation of modern German clarinet making.

We would like to thank Dr. Enrico Weller, who has made an important contribution to music history with his extensive articles and research on Uebel, for the information and photographic material presented here. We would like to refer to his article published in 'rohrblatt:

Weller, Enrico: Erste Adresse des deutschen Klarinettenbaus - Geschichte Bedeutung und Entwicklungsleistungen der Markneukirchener Holzblasinstrumentenwerkstätte F. Arthur Uebel, in: rohrblatt 8 (1993), pp. 142-146; 9th (1994), pp. 52-60.

The team

Between Tradition and Innovation –
85 Years of F. Arthur Uebel

who we are

Uebel_Imagefilm_UT-EN_20211111-1515(1)_Moment_edited.jpg

Jörg Thümmler

 woodwind instrument maker

In 1980, I began my apprenticeship at Oskar Adler & Co. as a bassoon maker. I successfully completed this in 1982. From 1989 to 2006 I was responsible for the company Schreiber & Söhne, today Buffet Crampon for the entire range of woodwind instruments and electroplating. From 2007 to 2013 I was self-employed with my own company as a repairer for woodwind instruments. In 2013, I came to Arnold Stölzel GmbH and took over the management of the F. Arthur Uebel GmbH in Markneukirchen.   

&

Eduard Nagel

woodwind instrument maker

My training as a woodwind instrument maker began in 1978 with Herbert Wurlitzer and then worked in his workshop for many years, during which time I also passed the master craftsman's examination.
In 2004, I moved to Bamberg and worked at

Schwenk & Seggelke until 2021.
I am now bringing the experience of my professional career to a team at FAU and I look forward to these challenges.

&

Eduard_edited.jpg
Andreas_edited.jpg

Andreas Grimm

technician

After completing my training in 2003, I was drawn to the world of musical instruments for a short time. 

Between 2007 and 2009 I worked for Schreiber und Keilwerth (today Buffet Crampon) as an employee for construction and product development.

I've been part of the Uebel family since 2018 and am responsible for design/development, programming and toolmaking. 

&

Éric Leclerc

woodwind instrument maker

I started my apprenticeship at Leblanc Paris in October 1981, then worked at Buffet Crampon from 1989 and moved to Oslo in 1996. I studied clarinet and bass clarinet at the Metz and Ville de Paris conservatories and played as a substitute in many symphony orchestras, mainly bass clarinet.

&

Eric2_edited.jpg

F. Arthur Uebel logo

Die Werkstätte F. Arthur Uebels

Ein bedeutendes Kapitel des deutschen Klarinettenbaus

Ansetzerei der Firma F. Arthur Uebel, Markneukirchen, undatiert.

Der Holzblasinstrumentenmacher Friedrich Gustav Uebel (1855-1915) erlernte sein Handwerk in Erlbach sowie bei dem renommierten Klarinettenhersteller Kruspe in Erfurt. Im Jahre 1878 gründete er seine eigene Firma, die ab 1880 in Wohlhausen bei Markneukirchen ansässig war und insbesondere durch die langjährige, intensive Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner „Altmeister“ Oskar Oehler überregionale Bedeutung erlangte. Bereits ab 1888 bestanden ein reger Austausch und eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Uebel und Oehler, für dessen Werkstatt Friedrich Gustav unter anderem Klappenansetzarbeiten sowie die Produktion halb fertiger Klarinetten übernahm. Darüber hinaus war Friedrich Gustav Uebel um 1900 an der Erfindung von Oehlers prominenter Gabel-f2-Mechanik und weiteren instrumentenspezifischen Verbesserungen beteiligt.

Friedrich Arthur Uebel (1888-1963) war der zweite Sohn von Friedrich Gustav und gründete am 2. September 1936 eine eigene Werkstätte in Markneukirchen, nachdem er 1911 direkt mit Oskar Oehler in Berlin als Volontär zusammengearbeitet hatte. Der Meisterschüler des 1936 verstorbenen Oehler übernahm im selben Jahr dessen Kundenstamm, um die Fortsetzung der erstklassigen Fertigung von Klarinetten im Oehler-System weiterhin zu gewährleisten und zahlreiche Verbesserungen hinsichtlich des Klappensystems umzusetzen. Uebel selbst notiert in seinem Katalog von 1936:

„Seit mehr als 30 Jahren habe ich dem Bau von Oehler-Klarinetten meine besondere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt. Ich war vor dem Kriege selbst Schüler des verstorbenen Altmeisters Oehler und habe in den langen Jahren meiner Berufspraxis meine erworbenen Kenntnisse praktisch bestens verwerten können. Klarinetten System Oehler werden in meinen Werkstätten mit Liebe und Sorgfalt unter meiner persönlichen Leitung hergestellt und vor Versand gründlich geprüft. Auf reine Stimmung, leichte Ansprache und auf ein tadelloses Arbeiten des Mechanismus wird selbstverständlich allergrößter [sic] Wert gelegt.“

Diplome_d'Honneur_edited.jpg
Erstklassige Klarinetten aus Markneukirchen
F. Arthur Uebel clarinet maker

Ein Ereignis, das für die Anfangsjahre der Firma von besonderer motivierender Bedeutung war, ist die Teilnahme an der internationalen Weltausstellung in Paris 1937, bei der Uebels Klarinetten und Bassklarinetten mit dem „diplôme d'honneur“ ausgezeichnet wurden. In Markneukirchen setzte die Firma die Produktion erstklassiger Klarinetten unter dem Signum F.A.U. fort und galt – trotz der politisch kritischen Umstände des Dritten Reichs, des Zweiten Weltkriegs und des Sozialismus – im zweiten Drittel des 20. Jahrhunderts als bedeutendste deutsche Klarinettenbauwerkstätte mit einer erstklassigen Belegschaft aus Facharbeitern und Spezialisten. Klarinettisten und Hochschullehrer wie Karl Schütte, Willy Schreinicke, Ewald Koch oder Oskar Michallik zählen zu den berühmteren F. Arthur Uebel Künstlern dieser Zeit.

Das obenstehende Portrait zeigt Friedrich Arthur Uebel. (Quelle: Betriebsführer aus der Musikinstrumentenindustrie, in: Die Unterhaltungsmusik Nr. 2658 vom 26. 11. 1936, S. 1519)

Bild Uebel alt.jpg
Kunsthandwerkliche Vollendung
F. Arthur Uebel clarinet makers

Aus dem Kreis der Mitarbeiter verdient der aus Wohlhausen stammende Max Schnabel (1893- 1979, Bild links gemeinsam mit dem Kammermusiker Schmitz aus Hannover, um 1940) besondere Erwähnung, oblag ihm als Stimmer doch letztlich die kunsthandwerkliche Vollendung der Instrumente, was ihn zum Ansprechpartner für die individuelle Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern und damit zum primären Qualitätsgaranten des Hauses Uebel machte. Die im Vogtland geschaffenen Klarinetten haben internationale Anregungen und Maßstäbe gesetzt, sodass die Firma F. Arthur Uebel gemeinsam mit der Leistung Oskar Oehlers zu Recht als Ausgangspunkt des neuzeitlichen deutschen Klarinettenbaus angesehen werden darf.

Für die hier dargestellten Informationen und das Bildmaterial möchten wir uns auf das Herzlichste bei Dr. Enrico Weller bedanken, der mit seinen umfangreichen Artikeln und Recherche zu Uebel einen wichtigen musikhistorischen Beitrag geleistet hat. Gerne verweisen wir auf seinen in 'rohrblatt erschienenen Artikel:

Weller, Enrico: Erste Adresse des deutschen Klarinettenbaus - Geschichte Bedeutung und Entwicklungsleistungen der Markneukirchener Holzblasinstrumentenwerkstätte F. Arthur Uebel, in: 'rohrblatt 8 (1993), S. 142-146; 9. (1994), S. 52-60.

Das Team

Zwischen Tradition und Innovation –
86 Jahre F. Arthur Uebel

Wer wir sind

Uebel_Imagefilm_UT-EN_20211111-1515(1)_Moment_edited.jpg

Jörg Thümmler

 Holzblasinstrumentenbauer

1980 begann ich die Lehre bei der Firma Oskar Adler & Co. als Fagottbauer. Diese habe ich 1982 erfolgreich abgeschlossen. 1989 – 2006 arbeite ich für die Firma Schreiber & Söhne, heute Buffet Crampon, zuständig für den gesamten Bereich Holzblasinstrumente und Galvano. 2007 – 2013 war ich selbständig mit eigener Firma als Reparateur für Holzblasinstrumente. 2013 kam ich dann zur Arnold Stölzel GmbH und übernahm die Leitung der F. Arthur Uebel GmbH in Markneukirchen.   

&

Eduard Nagel

Hozblasinstrumentenbaumeister

Meine Ausbildung zum Holzblasinstrumentenmacher begann 1978 bei Herbert Wurlitzer und arbeitete anschließend viele Jahre in seiner Werkstatt und machte in dieser Zeit auch die Meisterprüfung.
2004 zog ich nach Bamberg und arbeitete bis 2021 bei Schwenk & Seggelke.
Die Erfahrung meiner beruflichen Laufbahn bringe ich jetzt bei FAU in ein Team mit ein und freue mich über diese Herausforderungen.

&

Eduard Foto.jpg
Andreas_edited.jpg

Andreas Grimm

Techniker

Nach Abschluss meiner Ausbildung 2003, zog es mich für kurze Zeit in die Welt der Musikinstrumente. 

Zwischen 2007 und 2009 war ich bei Schreiber und Keilwerth (heute Buffet Crampon), als Mitarbeiter für Konstruktion und Produktentwicklung tätig.

Seit 2018 bin ich Teil der Uebel-Familie und bin für die Konstruktion/Entwicklung, Programmierung und den Werkzeugbau zuständig. 

&

Éric Leclerc

Hozblasinstrumentenbaumeister

Ich begann meine Ausbildung bei Leblanc Paris im Oktober 1981, anschließend arbeitete ich ab 1989 bei Buffet Crampon und zog im Jahr 1996 nach Oslo. Ich studierte Klarinette und Bassklarinette an den Konservatorien von Metz und Ville de Paris und spielte als Aushilfe in vielen Sinfonieorchester, hauptsächlich Bassklarinette.

&

Eric2_edited.jpg